Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
After 30 days, the fine due for a parking ticket doubles. Failure to pay a parking ticket may result in the suspension of your registration.
Show All Answers
Please visit the Small Claims page for more information.
Your court date is specific to your case. Please contact the Irondequoit Town Court at 585-336-6040 to speak with the Court Clerk.
If you have an attorney, contact your attorney, do not call the court. If you do not have an attorney, you must have a valid excuse for seeking a new appearance date (also called an adjournment). Proof may be required. Please note that while the Court will seek to accommodate all reasonable requests, you are not entitled to an adjournment and the Court is not required to offer you a new appearance date.
To request an adjournment, please call the Irondequoit Town Court at 585-336-6040 a minimum of 24 hours before your scheduled appearance. Failure to appear in court may result in a warrant being issued for your arrest.
Additional information regarding adjournments:
There are three ways to answer a traffic ticket:
To contest a Parking Violation, you may contact the Court at 585-336-6040 to schedule an appearance before the Judge on a date when parking is being heard. For more information, please visit the Irondequoit Winter Parking Ordinance page.
Whether or not you need an attorney to handle your traffic infraction is a personal decision that only you can make. If your license is in jeopardy based on the point system or if a traffic charge resulted from an accident, you are advised to consult an attorney. If you are charged with a criminal offense, you are advised to consult an attorney.
If you are not the defendant, bail will be released by the Judge when the case is disposed of. If the case is transferred to Grand Jury, you must wait until an order is received from the Superior Court. Bail is returned via check and is not available for pickup for approximately 1 week after release. Please note that a 3% bail poundage fee may apply.
If you are the defendant, bail will be released:
If your case has been transferred to the grand jury, the court must receive an order from the Superior Court to release bail. Bail is returned via check and is not available for pickup for approximately 1 week after release. Please note that a 3% bail poundage fee may apply.
Payments for parking violations can be made in one of the following ways:
For information pertaining to all Parking Violations, you may call the Town Court at 585-336-6040 during regular business hours.
Surcharges are mandatory charges required by Statute, with all revenues going to the State of New York. For convictions under the Vehicle and Traffic Law, mandatory surcharges are governed by V&T Law Section 1809. Convictions pursuant to the Penal Law are governed by Penal Law Section 60.35.
You must have a criminal complaint filed in order for the Judge to issue an order of protection. Please go to the Irondequoit Police Department at 1300 Titus Avenue to file a criminal complaint. Once the complaint is signed, it will be forwarded to the court. At the defendant's court appearance, the Judge can order that an order of protection be issued.
For information regarding orders of protection involving domestic partners, please contact the Monroe County Family Court at 585-371-3544.
Please visit the New York State's Department of Motor Vehicles website for more information about this law.
Refer to New York State's Department of Motor Vehicle website for more information.
No. Lawyers are not necessary for Small Claims Court, but you may obtain the services of a lawyer.
Filing Fees for Small Claims actions are based on the number of damages being sought;
Filing fees must be paid at the time of filing Small Claims actions with the court. Please note that filing fees for Small Claims cases are non-refundable.
Upon submission of the appropriate forms and payment of the Small Claims fee (see above), notices will be mailed by the Court office to both parties indicating the date and time of the hearing. Bring any appropriate evidence and/or witnesses to the hearing. The regular rules of evidence are enforced by the presiding judge.